Break even Question 1: Shannon’s distributes its beer through a wholesaler, Miller of Denton. The retail selling price for a six pack of its typical craft beer is $12.00. The retailer’s cost per six pack is $8.00. The wholesaler selling the beer to the retailer for this price. Shannon’s sells a six pack to the wholesaler for $5.40. Shannon’s variable costs of production, packaging, and distribution are $3.60 per six pack. Shannon’s has the following annual fixed operating and marketing costs:
Marketing Costs $58,166
Consumer Advertising $32,957
Trade Promotion $30,000
Sales Promotion $18,000
What is Shannon’s annual break-even in six packs of beer sold?
Question 2: Given the above information in Q1, Shannon’s wants to increase its sales to retailers by 20% in the next year. Management estimates that the incremental promotion program required to generate sufficient demand to boost sales by 20% will be:
Personal Selling Costs $60,000 (exclusive of commission)
Consumer Advertising $62,517
Trade Promotion $40,149
Sales Promotion $25,000
Shannon’s will need to hire an additional sales person (paid a salary and commission) and provide some added administrative support. The sales person’s salary plus administrative support will cost about $60,000 per year. The sales person’s commission will be the equivalent of $0.05 per six pack sold. The incremental costs of consumer advertising, trade promotion, and sales promotion necessary to support sales in the new market will be substantial as indicated in the table above. What level of sales in six packs will be required to break-even on the incremental costs that are anticipated?
Let’s modify the scenario from Q1 and Q2 a bit. Management estimates that the incremental promotion program required to generate sufficient demand to boost sales by 20% will need to be:
Marketing Costs $60,000 (exclusive of commissions)
Consumer Advertising $57,805
Trade Promotion $38,235
Sales Promotion $25,000
The total market for craft beer sold in six packs is about 2,500,000 six packs per year. What additional market share will Shannon’s need to achieve in order to break-even on the incremental costs that are anticipated? Express your answer in percent format to two decimal places. For example, 5.00 for five percent or .50 for one-half of one percent. Do not include the percent sign.
“Struggling with a similar assignment? We Can Help!”